FABULOUS MOOLA dies at age 84…sports…

History-making female wrestler dies at 84

 

In  from COLUMBIA, South Carolina, Lillian Ellison, professional wrestling’s Fabulous Moolah, has died. She was 84.

art.ellison.ap.jpg

Professional wrestler Lillian “Fabulous Moolah” Ellison, seen here in 2001, died Friday.

Ellison died Friday, according to Dunbar Funeral Home in Columbia.

Born Mary Lillian Ellison in 1923, she was dubbed the Fabulous Moolah after saying she wrestled “for the money … for the moolah.”

She was a longtime champion and the first woman inducted into the World Wrestling Entertainment Hall of Fame. Her autobiography, “The Fabulous Moolah: First Goddess of the Squared Circle,” was published in 2003.

Her daughter, Mary Austin said her mother had six grandchildren and six great-grandchildren, loved her family and wrestling.

“She was famous, but I never looked at her that way,” Austin told The State. “She was just Mom, someone that was always there for me. Someone I could turn to.”

Ellison grew up in the small Kershaw County community of Tookiedoo, the youngest of 13 children and the only girl. Austin said her mother had six grandchildren and six great grand children, loved her family and wrestling.

Her obituary from the funeral home lists 63 year old Katie Glass of Columbia as Ellison’s adopted daughter. Glass, known as “Diamond Lil,” was a professional midget wrestler for 25 years. She said she was just 17 when she moved to Columbia to live with Ellison and learn to wrestle.

“She just taught me the basics, the holds, how to get somebody down, lock them down and everything,” Glass told The State.

Glass said she will miss Ellison.

“It’s going to be hard, I’ll tell you,” Glass said. “We’re doing the best we can. She was there for me. She’s a very nice lady. I’m going to miss her dearly and I love her very much.”

******

Thank you AP and CNN News

*******************************

Rest in Peace Fabulous Moola…it is because of women like you that women are where we are today.  Pioneers for women…thank you Moola for paving the way for the rest of us.

~The Baby Boomer Queen~

~ by thebabyboomerqueen on November 5, 2007.

4 Responses to “FABULOUS MOOLA dies at age 84…sports…”

  1. R.I.P to the Fabulous Moolah
    For tons more information on Moolah go to this site: http://www.lethalwow.com/bios/moolah.htm

  2. I started watching wrestling at (3) now I am (32) you know how many years that is. I wanted to say that the fabulous moola is (was) one of my favorite women’s wrestler. I love the way she carried herself and that fact that when she got into the squared circle she became a deadly weapon. I love the fact that even in older age she still came out and entertain the fans and that she never let age become a factor. I just wanted to say that she will be miss and as much as i did not know her personnally , I am glad to have know her throught WWE . May she rest in peace.

  3. I just wanted to say that moolah was the greatest. Isaw her in person many times at the avlon in newburgh NY and that woman gave wrestling her all. I am 55 years old and my grandparents took me to the matches every Sat nite I saw arnold skoland, bruno, hay stacks, bobo brazil, and many others many time. God bless you Moohal. Oh and thanks for the memories that always give me smiles. You will be missed

  4. this is very sad Iwas going to try to email moola for the first time…

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

